In the Fight for Black Lives, Don’t Forget Black Women

Whitney Alese
7 min readMay 17, 2020

I heard my Pastor lead prayer for Black men this morning, and I cringed. Not because there is anything wrong with prayer, nor the prayer he prayed, nor anything wrong with praying for Black Men. After the videos of Ahmaud Arbery, a Black man who made the mistake of going for a jog and was murdered by two white supremacists, and Sean Reed, who after being unnecessarily gunned down by officers while fleeing, was made fun of by those officers who suggested a closed casket.

We have been doing a lot of talking about Ahmaud Arbery and Sean Reed, lives that mattered, lives that were lost. But in these discussions of these men, men whose lives mattered and who deserve justice, where is the discussion of Breonna Taylor? While I appreciated the prayer, our men need the encouragement and protection that the Lord can provide, I was perturbed. I found myself saying, out loud, “Yes Ahmaud, yes Sean, but what about Breonna, pastor?” Do Black Women need less prayer, less support, less protection just because we are women.

Want to read this story later? Save it in Journal.

The stories and data say otherwise.

Breonna Taylor, an awarded EMT who served in Louisville, Kentucky, was shot to death during a botched no-knock warrant job by the Louisville police. During this botched job, 3 police…

--

--

Whitney Alese

Whitney Alese is an award winning writer & creator featured in WIRED Magazine, I-D Magazine, NBC, & Chalkboard Magazine.