Kim Kardashian West is a Cultural Problem

Whitney Alese
7 min readJul 1, 2019

A portion of this post was originally shared on Styled.

I want to take back any and every nice thing I have ever said about Kim Kardashian.

Confession: I used to root for her. Seriously. I liked how she turned her influencer status into a multimillion dollar lifestyle.

However, Kim has shown, despite her propensity to attempt to rescue (and take credit) for Black folks unfairly treated in the justice system, that she is simply is not a good person.

She has shown it in her blatant disregard to learn from her past mistakes.

She has shown us in how she has treated those who are running the charity formerly known as Donda’s House, a philanthropy dedicated to Kim’s husband, Kanye West, who West and Kim all but abandoned. When they were called out for their abandonment, Kardashian-West launched into a Twitter tirade on the leaders of Donda’s House, threatening to remove the very leadership that kept Donda’s House alive in order to make it her “mission to take Donda’s House from you and let my children run it the way it should be run!”

You better believe I will make it my mission to take Donda’s House from you and let my children run it the way it should be run! @RHYMEFEST

— Kim Kardashian West (@KimKardashian) May 26, 2018

--

--

Whitney Alese

Whitney Alese is an award winning writer & creator featured in WIRED Magazine, I-D Magazine, NBC, & Chalkboard Magazine.